Playwrights Theatre Centre


Turn Up the Volume

What does it mean to truly listen? And to really be heard? For playwrights, it means support to imagine a new world, and to bring it to an audience.

You can turn up the volume on new voices by supporting playwrights at PTC.

In January 2020, Catherine Joell MacKinnon brings her bilingual (ASL-English) play, Inaudibility World to PTC for 10 days of intensive development. A solo play created and performed by Catherine, Inaudibility World explores the challenges of growing up as a deaf woman, dealing with love, grief and loss. Catherine delves into her struggles in gaining acceptance in a world that is not deaf, while examining the complexities of whether or not she is accepted by the Deaf community.

We are now working with Catherine to design a bilingual ASL-English dramaturgy process that makes cross-cultural exchange a central part of her development experience.

When you donate to PTC, you are making the inaudible audible.

Your gift of $150 supports ASL interpretation for our company meet and greet.
Your gift of $100 supports videography so Catherine can see her ASL drafts in real time.
Any amount that’s meaningful to you will have an impact.

Please join us with a gift today.

Support PTC

Donate Now

Donate Online:

You can make a secure donation to PTC online through CanadaHelps. Make your monthly contribution to sustain new plays all year long, or a one-time donation if you prefer. It’s a quick, easy and safe way to donate. You’ll receive your charitable receipt immediately through CanadaHelps.

Donate By Mail:

You can mail your donation directly to PTC’s office. Simply download, print, and fill out our donor form to send along with your donation to:

1422 William Street
Vancouver, BC V6L 2P7

All donations over $10 will receive a tax receipt for the full amount.

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact PTC at 604-685-6228 or email us at

PTC is a registered Canadian charity, BN: 119056463RR0001

Donate Aeroplan miles:

PTC is part of the Aeroplan member donation program, an online platform where Aeroplan members can connect with more than 200 organizations, charities and causes that they care about, and help make a difference in the world by donating their miles to worthy initiatives.  Each charitable donation you make will be topped up by a 10% contribution from Aeroplan.

Donate here.

*Please note that PTC is unable to issue tax receipts for donated Aeroplan miles.



  • Afshin Haidari-Khabbaz
  • Alexandra Lainfiesta
  • Angela Descalzi
  • Anita Small
  • Anonymous
  • Athomas Goldberg
  • Bill Hubbard
  • Carol Sawyer
  • Chapelle Jaffe
  • Chelsea Haberlin
  • Christie Denny
  • CI Young
  • Clayton Baraniuk + Jason Dubois
  • Cynthia Carey
  • Darryl Hackett
  • Dave + Cameron Mackenzie Deveau
  • David Weinakuf
  • DD Kugler
  • Deborah Williams
  • Ellie O’Day
  • Emma Tibaldo
  • Gary Geddes
  • Gerald Williams
  • Glynis WJ Whiting
  • Heidi Taylor
  • Ian Farthing
  • Jacqueline Forster
  • Jan Derbyshire
  • Jane Flick
  • Jane Heyman
  • Janice Valdez
  • Jeff Hammond
  • Jeffrey Hammond
  • Jennifer Griffin
  • Jenny Joe
  • Jerry Wasserman
  • Jessica Choi
  • Judy Rhodes
  • Julie McIsaac
  • Kathleen Duborg
  • Kathleen Flaherty
  • Kerry Davidson
  • Kevan Bowkett (in Honour of Jessica Schacht)
  • Kristina Lemieux
  • Leanor Vlug
  • Lenore Rowntree
  • Leslie Bramhill
  • Linda Gorrie
  • Loretta Seto
  • Lynna Goldhar Smith
  • Lyrica Bradshaw
  • Margo Kane
  • Mark Vulliamy
  • Martin Kinch
  • Milton Lim
  • Mindy Parfitt
  • Nancy Jean Ross
  • Natasha McEwen
  • Nicolle Nattrass
  • Pamela Hawthorne
  • Patricia Gingras
  • Patrick Ho
  • Pedro Chamale
  • Rena Cohen
  • Richard Tse
  • Rick Parnell
  • Robert Heidbreder
  • Roger Howard
  • Sive O’Neil
  • Stephen Heatley
  • Therese + Nick Smortchevsky
  • Tim Carlson
  • Vancouver Film School
  • Xin Xuan Song

In Memoriam Donations:

  • Jane Taylor – In Memory of Dorothy Clarke (Nana)
  • Kathleen Flaherty – In Memory of Sharilyn Calliou
  • Micheline Chevrier – In Memory of Gina Wilkinson
  • Nicola Harwood – In Memory of Biddy Jones