Announcing the Participants in Block A – Winter 2021

Block A Winter Cohort

We are pleased to announce that as our Fall 2020 cohort wraps up, we welcome another group of wonderful emerging writers coming into Block A in January 2021.

The Winter cohort has six writers who will work with writer and AD of the frank theatre company, Block A leader Fay Nass for ten weeks starting January 11, 2021. Another six will work with our very own Joanna Garfinkel, PTC’s Dramaturg, Creative Engagement, for ten weeks starting January 12, 2020.

The writers with Fay Nass are Avery Taylor, Chlöe Rowat, Karla Comanda, Molly Beatrice, Sarvin Esmaeili and SJ Valiquette. The writers working with Joanna Garfinkel are Alexander Steele Zonjic, Emmett Hanly, Ishan Sandhu, Louisa Phung, Nicola Wanless and Sean Enns.

Block A focuses on opportunities for emerging writers to develop the basic tools of plot, characterization and dialogue while exploring the elasticity of theatrical forms. They will work on their own projects while offering and receiving support from a talented cohort in a supportive environment.

While we made great headway with our fundraising to subsidize the fees for all of our artists in the program, we are still far from our goal. Especially now with the new public health and safety guidelines, those that work in theatre are experiencing further strain on their income. For our incoming Block A artists, we are committed to providing the same subsidy that was given to many of the artists participating this Fall. We have relaunched our campaign, Writing Tomorrow – The Power of Connection, and aiming to raise $3000. Help up support these writers of tomorrow, as the bravely develop work during these uncertain times.